claw clip pixel art

media log

If I don't care for it, I won't log it.
warning symbolall entries contain potential spoilers
Love me for who I am Vol. 1 cover
23/3 - finished reading Love Me for Who I Am , a manga about LGBTQ teens working in a "crossdressing" cafe together.
Thoughts: This manga does a great job of humanizing its characters. The plot came off as a bit weak and melodramatic at first, but the story gradually hooked me in. I found the ending really emotional in particular. When Mogumo said they were happy to be born the way they are, despite having to struggle a ton because of their gender identity, I got really emotional. This manga does a great job expressing the struggles and joys of living as LGBTQ.

Favorite Character: Mizunoe (she had the worst relationship to her LGBTQ identity out of all the characters, so I found her arc to be the most interesting.)

Recommendation: Recommended

panels my favorite sandwich
Fujimoto Before Chainsaw man 17-21 cover
20/3 - finished reading Tatsuki Fujimoto Before Chainsaw Man (17-21 and 22-26) 2 collections of oneshot mangas that Fujimoto wrote prior to publishing Chainsaw Man.
Thoughts: I felt like none of the stories were expanded enough to stand on their own, but put together it made for a solid reading experience. All of the stories had Fujimotos special "weirdness" to it that I liked. It was nice to see where Fujimoto's artstyle developed from too.

Favorite oneshot(s): Sisters (weird premise with weird execution) + Nayuta of the Prophecy (wholesome brother-sister relationship.)

Recommendation: Recommended for Fujimoto fans, tentatively recommended for normal people

Goodbye Eri manga cover
19/3 - finished Goodbye Eri, a one-shot manga about two teenagers making a film together.
Thoughts: Look Back, another one of Fuijimoto’s one-shots, is probably my favorite manga, so I knew I would enjoy this one. Goodbye Eri didn’t end up hitting me as hard as Look Back, but its still quite cool. The panels in the manga generally stay at the anamorphic widescreen size of films. The narrative also puts emphasis the fact that the story shown is a movie made by its characters.

I like how aspects of Eri were intentionally removed or changed in the final version of Yuta’s film. It makes the story feel more authentic, cus the subject of the film has a real will and had a part in the movie’s making.

I also enjoyed the element of surrealism, similar to Look Back. It forces the reader to seriously engage with the story and it’s meaning to get everything to make sense.

Fujimotos storytelling style is really cool, I’m envious.

Recommendation: Recommended (but read look back first)

panels
Volume 11 cover of Blood on the Tracks
11/3 - finished reading Blood on the Tracks / Chi no Wadachi, a psychological horror manga about a boy's spiralling relationship with his mother.
Thoughts: A well illustrated story that was tense and engaging. The atmosphere of the story was unnerving in a way where I couldn't tell if the fear I was experiencing was logical or baseless paranoia. The dream/altered reality sequence near the end, where Seiichi stays the night at his mother's house again as an adult, was an emotional highlight. I also felt for Shigeru, who barely survived the first push off the cliff and was ultimately thrown off again, left to freeze in the snow. I share similarities with Shigeru, so the events strongly affected me.

Recommendation: Highly Recommended

panels
Volume 1 cover of Chiikawa
6/3 - read Chiikawa, a twitter serialized manga about the daily lives of tiny cute creatures.
Thoughts: I like the creatures' perpetually eager expessions and their watery eyes full of blissful innocence. There are actual real heartwarming moments in this. Ended up leaving a few chapters unread to enjoy later.

Favorite Character: Chiikawa (cutest)

Recommendation: recommended (I need to watch all 87 available episodes of the animated Chiikawa TV shorts.)

panels